Home / Ayurveda / Gyanendri:


The sense organs

The organs of perception are called gyanendries. Since they are the tools to acquire –”gyana” –the knowledge or information, they are termed so. They are five in numbers-

Aksh (The Eyes)
Karn (The Ears)
Nasik (The Nostrils)
Jihwa (The Tongue)
Twacha (The Skin)

These five are termed as Indriyadhisthana. It means, the prime location of sensory perception. Every Gyanendri is a complex system and not just, one or two organs. Each of these Gyanendriyas has a definite object of perception. This object of a sensory organ is termed as Indriyartha.


  Element Sense organs Feel by Taste and color Nature Taste, color,Properties Action
1 Space   Hearing Pungent


Mixed Create natural void in body Produces softness, lightness and porosity
2 Air










Slightly bitter taste

Like smoke

Light, dual, clear and dry


Governs inhalation, exhalation, opening and closing of eyelids, extension and contraction of joints, locomotion and other motor functions. Digestion of food  

Creates dryness, emaciation



3 Fire   Visual Pungent

Slightly sour


Hot Controls temperature and luster of body color. Helps in digestion, maturation, improves eye sight


4 Water






Astringent Slightly,


White, clear

Cold, heavy and fluid


It is root of Kapha, which joins the bone control the body. Necessary to digest food.




Imparts glossiness

Acts as nutrient, emollient and purgative.

Enhances fluid content & purgative







Smell Sweet


Heavy,compact & rough.


Controls organs as teeth, nails, flesh, skin, tendons & muscles.


Creates dryness, lightness and emaciation.